The Human Nervous System and Kundalini Yoga

9:10 pm Chakra-Neuroendocrinology, Spirits Awaken Class

Exercizing the Human Nervous System with Kundalini

For this week’s Spirits Awaken Yoga class I am planning a special set, in honor of an out of town guest, (welcome Sim.) We will be focusing on our human nervous system.

All forms of yoga work the nervous system, which is one of the reasons why so many benefits exist from practicing yoga. One of the reasons I am partial to Kundalini, aside from simply being drawn to it, is that through the practice correlations are made between the seven chakras and seven core nerve plexus.

This chart is from the Kundalini Yoga Experience book, one of my favorites.

1st chakra – Coccygeal
2nd chakra – Sacral
3rd chakra – Solar
4th chakra – Heart
5th chakra – Phanyngeal
6th chakra – Hypothalamus
7th chakra – Cerebral cortex

So by working with any pose or kriya we work to stimulate the nerves of the corresponding chakra and nerve centers.

This weeks class will take some extra care to open the heart nerve center.  Strong circulation of impulses through the heart is very important for nerve vitality.

looking forward to the set,

Sat Nam


Leave a Comment

Your comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment. Digg it reddit