Yamas Definitions

1st Chakra- Root, 2nd Chakra- Creativity, 3rd Chakra- Power, 4th Chakra- Heart Center, 5th Chakra- Communication, 6th Chakra- Intuition, 7th Chakra- Divine, Raja Yoga, Science of Yoga, Yoga Glossary No Comments

The 5 Yamas are essentially restraints upon the Raja Yoga path.

I’ve been defining them here over the past several months, so I thought an overview post would be in order.  I shall also provide a little perspective on how the Yamas interact with our chakras, please note this perspective is generated by my intuition.  I welcome feedback.

Ahimsa- Non-violence.  I believe non violence works to properly balance our third chakra because we do not force power over another by practicing.  It also inhibits the creation of a certain type of karma that is typically viewed as negative karma.
Satya- speaking about what is true. My perspective is that this balances our 5th chakra, or communication center.  For when we speak about what is True, in the True sense of the matter, we are sending forth a powerful positive vibration.
Asteya- non stealing.  I believe this is another means of balancing our power centers.  Here we are only using the resources which are rightfully ours.  I suspect it is when the survival or 1st chakra is out of balance that the urge to steal comes to being.
Bramacharya- moving toward Brahma.  From a conservation of sexual energy perspective, I believe this balances the svadhisthana chakra.  From a moving towards God or Brahma perspective, I would say that the 7th or Divine Chakra is utilized.
Aparigraho- non grasping.  The center this focuses on is not obvious to me, I would say if one truly knows themselves they are centered in themselves, and perhaps this type of centering is the work of the heart chakra and perhaps ones mind stays within and does not attach itself to the external which would seem to be a function of the third eye.
These 5 together make up the Yamas.  The Yamas should be practiced as one of the steps of the 8 limbs of yoga.  We find within them very clean means to balance the chakras.
May the yamas server you well.

Svadhisthana- 2nd Chakra (Sacral)

2nd Chakra- Creativity, Chakras No Comments

Second Chakra- Svadhisthana

The second chakra is located just above the base of the spine around ones sex organs. This energy center has to do with creativity, specifically around the creation of life. Orange is the color of the 2nd Chakra. There is a large imbalance in our society in the second center due to mass media glorifying sexuality, without the presence of love

When this chakra is blocked it manifests itself with a deep sense of insecurity with ones own sexuality. A person with an over active 2nd chakra will tend to focus on sex too much.

The second chakra builds upon the survival instincts of the 1st chakra, by Desire. The desire to pass along our genetic blue print and produce off spring.

Benefits of a Balanced 2nd Chakra

  • Proper flow of energy through reproductive organs
  • Healthy sex life
  • Ability to properly focus creative energy

Once one has properly balanced the sacral center they are able to transmute the creative energies of the second chakra into the higher centers and express the divine creativity from within.