Yamas Definitions

1st Chakra- Root, 2nd Chakra- Creativity, 3rd Chakra- Power, 4th Chakra- Heart Center, 5th Chakra- Communication, 6th Chakra- Intuition, 7th Chakra- Divine, Raja Yoga, Science of Yoga, Yoga Glossary No Comments

The 5 Yamas are essentially restraints upon the Raja Yoga path.

I’ve been defining them here over the past several months, so I thought an overview post would be in order.  I shall also provide a little perspective on how the Yamas interact with our chakras, please note this perspective is generated by my intuition.  I welcome feedback.

Ahimsa- Non-violence.  I believe non violence works to properly balance our third chakra because we do not force power over another by practicing.  It also inhibits the creation of a certain type of karma that is typically viewed as negative karma.
Satya- speaking about what is true. My perspective is that this balances our 5th chakra, or communication center.  For when we speak about what is True, in the True sense of the matter, we are sending forth a powerful positive vibration.
Asteya- non stealing.  I believe this is another means of balancing our power centers.  Here we are only using the resources which are rightfully ours.  I suspect it is when the survival or 1st chakra is out of balance that the urge to steal comes to being.
Bramacharya- moving toward Brahma.  From a conservation of sexual energy perspective, I believe this balances the svadhisthana chakra.  From a moving towards God or Brahma perspective, I would say that the 7th or Divine Chakra is utilized.
Aparigraho- non grasping.  The center this focuses on is not obvious to me, I would say if one truly knows themselves they are centered in themselves, and perhaps this type of centering is the work of the heart chakra and perhaps ones mind stays within and does not attach itself to the external which would seem to be a function of the third eye.
These 5 together make up the Yamas.  The Yamas should be practiced as one of the steps of the 8 limbs of yoga.  We find within them very clean means to balance the chakras.
May the yamas server you well.

Developing Intuition Exercise #5

6th Chakra- Intuition, Kundalini Yoga Kriyas, Spirits Awaken Class 1 Comment

How exciting is it that we as humans can work on developing intuition!

Intuition is one of those things that is ellusive to describe at times, yet is known to be a powerful asset for people. There are times when we simply get feelings and thoughts that tell us the proper course of action to take. We don’t necessarily know where the impulse came from, but we know it is there.

We have several descriptive names for it, women’s intuition, mother’s intuition, a gut feeling what ever you want to call it, it exists.  And through Kundalini Yoga we have one means of exercising intuitive prowless.

The Intuition center is closely connected to the Pituitary Gland, or Master Gland.  It is often called the Master gland for it is responsible for regulation of other areas of the endocrine system.

So for our 5th installment of Spirits Awaken class we will be focusing on stimulating our pituitary glands and our center of intuition.  We are going to start with an exercise to charge our magnetic fields, then follow that up with some Power Center work, (helps pull up the gut instict.)

There will be an pose that is very potent at pituitary gland stimulation and immediately after that we will take on a fun exercise to help polarize the magnetic field, or aura once again.

be well


PS- this kriya is taken from the Kundalini Yoga Experience book

Ajna- 6th Chakra (Third Eye: Intuition)

6th Chakra- Intuition, Chakras 5 Comments

Sixth Chakra- Ajna (Center of Intution or Third Eye)

The ajna center is located directly in ones brow, between the eyebrows on the forehead. This center is commonly called the Third eye. As the third eye opens one is able to access their intuition at a much higher level.

The sixth chakra is also provides a channel for projection of energy, more specifically thought energy. As one starts actively working with the Third Eye sensations, or impressions, begin to register with the conscious mind right in the forehead. One may speak of it as reinforcing ones forehead ;-)

When there is not sufficient energy flowing into this center one will have challenges projecting their thoughts into the world of manifestation. They will also have difficulties with their sense of intuition.
People that have an overactive Third Eye may be too mental in nature. They can focus too much of their attention within their own mind and can come off as aloof.
The color of the 6th chakra is a blend of electric blue meets deep purple.

Benefits of a Balanced 6th Chakra

  • Improved intuition
  • Ability to swiftly transition into a meditative state
  • Psychic ability
  • Thought projection into manifestation

The sixth chakra has much potential to increase the quality of our lives when properly balanced. As humanity evolves the power of the sixth center will be with us. The ability to focus within the mind and bring down impressions from above is truly inspiring.

Sat Nam